Author Archives: Bfortch

Alejandro’s Finals Performance Video

Today is the first day of the reign of the new World Champion. Congratulations again to Alejandro, El Salvador, and HasBean who roasted his delicious coffee.

Here is the video of the performance that won it all.

Alejandro did not place first in either the semi finals (4th) or the first round (3rd) of the WBC.  It was this performance in the final round that sealed his win.

Well done Alejandro!

His win has us singing this song all day:


The 2011 World Barista Champion

The New WBC Champion Alejandro Mendez

Thanks to this photo by Nuova Simonelli, here is the little guy from El Salvador who just won the 2011 World Barista Championships.

Champion: Alejandro Mendez – El Salvador 710.5 pts

2nd Place: Pete Licata, USA 659.5 pts.

3rd Place: Matt Perger, Australia 659 pts.

4th Place: Javier Garcia, Spain 631.5 pts.

5th Place: Miki Suzuki, Japan 629.5 pts.

6th Place, John Gordon, UK 613.5 pts.

Semi Finals Videos Posted

You can see the semi finalists presentations on video by going to the link on Live Stream.

Semi Finals Videos of WBC 2011 Bogota

Backstage Video by Sprudge

R Miguel has a little song he uses to sort thru Pete Licata’s beans for Semi Finals.  Via Sprudge!

Semi Final’s Prep – Backstage Photos

Jim Seven and a few others have snapped some nice behind-the-scenes photos of the intensity that is the  morning before the WBC semi-finals round.

Pete Licata of USA in Prep Mode

Miki Suzuki looks excited

Lina Zea looks focused










John Gordon by JimSeven

Co-Emcee Raul Rodas looking Nervous

view of WBC stage by JimSeven


Semi Finals Schedule

The competition schedule for the WBC Semi Finals is ready.

You can see it here:

WBC Semi Finals Schedule for Saturday 4 June

Finalist Announcement Ceremony will begin at 3:00 PM


Out of the 53 national champions from the first round, the following twelve advance to the semi-finals round on Saturday.

Listed in no particular order:

Spain – Javier Garcia

Guatemala – Jose de la Pena

Korea – HyunSun Choi

Costa Rica – Ricardo Azofeifa Mora

UK – John Gordon

Japan – Miki Suzuki

Colombia – Lina Zea

El Salvador – Alejandro Mendez

USA – Pete Licata

Greece – Stefanos Domatiotis

Australia – Matty Perger

Netherlands – Yakup Aydin


The Semi Finals round will begin at 11:15 AM Bogota time, Saturday 4 June.